Private Paradise pt 8

“Morning gorgeous,” He’d been awake for nearly an hour, but it had been easy to stay still and quiet. The restless, anxious energy was gone and in its place was a comfortable peace. He never felt more at home than he did in her arms and having her here, wrapped up in his made him complete in a way he couldn’t quite explain.

“Morning,” she whispered, her eyes barely opened, a sleepy smile playing across her face. “What time is it?”

“A little after 7,” he smiled, basking in the warmth of her skin on his.

“Uhhh..it’s early,” she curled up closer to him, pressing herself tighter against him. “You have some big plans this morning or something? Because I don’t know about you, but I’m good stay right here with you all day.”

Billy sighed as he felt her lips brush against his bare chest. “You know…”. Her fingertips danced up and down his arms, the look in her eyes almost impossible to ignore. “We can do other things together,” he whispered.

She smiled, rolling into his arms, “You’re absolutely right…we can, but why would you want to?”

He wrapped his arms around her as he gently moved to loom over her. HIs lips softly brushed hers once more. “How the hell am I supposed to argue that?”

“You’re not,” she smiled, “You’re supposed to shut up and kiss me.”

~

“I’m pretty sure we can’t even call this brunch anymore,” she grinned as she took backwards steps towards him. She grabbed her hair, holding it up for him to tie her bathing suit top.

She sighed as she felt his warm breath on her neck. “Billy,” she scolded, her tone, good-natured. “We are going to the island. We are. We are on a private island. We’d be crazy to stay holed up in this room all day.”

Billy gently turned her around, his arms wrapped low around her waist. “I’ll take crazy with you in this room over normal and sharing you with the world any day,” he grinned.

“There are white sand beaches, private cabanas, a rum bar…”.

“Private cabanas, huh?” Billy’s eyes lit up.

“Uh huh…with hammocks and beach massages.” She smiled as he grabbed her hand. “Wait a minute,” she giggled as he gently pulled her towards the door. “I’ve got to get my shoes and my bag.”

Phyllis slipped into her shoes, flashing a flirtatious smile at Billy as she completed her look with her sun hat and glasses. “How do I look?” She grinned.

“Like I should watch my back,” he sighed.

She stepped into his arms, and leaned in close. “No one else even comes close,” she whispered.

~

“Come on, you love to take risks…you love to get your blood pumping…what better way?”

“It’s not gonna happen, Billy. I’m not even almost drunk enough. In fact, I don’t know that I could get drunk enough.” She took another sip from her daiquiri. “Though I swear you must have told them to make this triple strength.” She blinked at him with a smile, “If I didn’t know better, I’d think you were trying to take advantage of me, Billy Abbott.”

Billy laughed, “I think you need to loosen up. Look at that couple over there. Don’t they look like they’re having fun?”

Phyllis stared. “Actually, I’m almost certain she’s holding his stuff for him while he goes.”

Billy glanced back again. She was right. “Oh well, see…she’s missing out. YOu don’t want to miss out do you? I mean you really want to have to sit and listen to me go on and on about how much fun this was while you sit back and think about holding my phone and sunglasses?”

Her eyes widened. “You’re not seriously going to do this?”

“Why not? I think it’ll be fun. It’s an adventure and life is short. I just wish you’d do it with me. They send two up at a time. I’d be right there with you.”

“Somehow dying together doesn’t sound as romantic framed around plummeted to your death in a parasailing accident. You really need the Shakespeare thing to pull it off.”

Billy laughed. “That’s a little dramatic, don’t you think?”

“Billy,” she whined, “Just don’t, please. Do we really have to take risks right now? Can’t we just enjoy this?”

He sighed. “Of course we can and if you really don’t want me to go parasailing, I won’t. If you want me to stay right here with you all day long, that’s exactly what I’ll do.”

“Now I never said anything about staying here all day…I just thought we might try to find our adventure a little closer to the ground.”

“Really?” He raised his eyebrows. “As fun as that sounds…I’m not sure it’s that kind of beach.”

“You,” she scoffed, jabbing him lightly in the ribs, “Actually,” she reached into her bag, pulling out the brochure, “I was actually thinking about this…”

~

“I have to admit I”m a little surprised you want to go snorkeling.”

“Why? The outfit’s totally hot,” she giggled as she struck a pose in the mask and flippers.

“You’d make anything hot,” he whispered. “No, I just…I didn’t picture you as the type that wanted to spend as much time in the water as you did on the beach.”

“The beaches back home maybe, but have you seen this water?” She waded out a bit, his hand in hers, “look at this….it’s crystal clear. Look at those fish.”

She’s as right. After only wading out into the water a bit, the beautifully colored tropical fish could be clearly seen as they moved through the water. Somehow though, that wasn’t what captured his attention. It was the carefree tone in her voice, the happiness in her eyes, and the smile on her face that had his focus. “I can’t take my eyes off you,” he sighed, “the fish will have to wait.”

He leaned in close to her, pulling her towards him and nudging the mask away from her face. He felt her relax in his embrace before tensing suddenly.

“Ok,” he sighed, pulling away slowly, “I get it and you’re right…we have plenty of time for this later…Let’s..”. He stopped as he saw the look on her face.

“Hey,” he said quickly, “What’s wrong?”

She was still. “I don’t know..that was weird. It was.” Her breath caught and she gripped his arm, her face contorted in pain. “Owwww,” she yelped.

Billy grabbed her, immediately wrapping his arm tight around her and helping her out of the water. A quick glance down at her bare leg confirmed his suspicions. “Yeah, it got you pretty good,” he sighed.

Phyllis breathed heavily. “What got me? What in the hell is that thing?”

“A jellyfish,” Billy grimaced, still looking at her calf. “And judging by this…a pretty big one.” He lifted her up easily, carrying her back to their private cabana and placing her in the hammock. “You stay right here. I’m gonna go get something from the first aid shed.”

~

Phyllis lay back in the hammock, her head resting on Billy’s bare chest.

“Feeling better?” He asked his voice as soothing to her as any lullaby had ever been.

She nodded, turning her head to look into his eyes. “Thank you for always taking care of me. Sometimes I don’t know what I would do without you.”

Billy smiled at her, his lips gently brushing against her forehead. It amazed him sometimes–how she thought that she needed him, when in truth he needed her far more than she’d ever need him. “You’ll never ever have to find out. This is the way it should be…just us…just like this.”

Leave a Reply

